Review of The Lost Story

Thank you to Ballantine Books for this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

The Lost Story by Meg Shaffer is an amazing follow-up to the author’s debut, The Wishing Game, which brought me right back to my childhood. This book, which is a standalone, revolves around a trio, Emilie, Rafe, and Jeremy, who are brought together for the strangest of reasons. When Jeremy and Rafe were kids, they disappeared into the woods, into a magical kingdom similar to Narnia. Years later, Emilie is looking for her sister, who disappeared in the same woods they did.

Overall, The Lost Story is an amazing fantasy book that is sure to become a bestseller! It will appeal to fans of Lev Grossman’s The Magicians and Seanan Maguire’s Wayward Children novella series. One highlight of this book is how it gave me all of the emotions, from sadness, to joy. Get ready to feel every emotion in the book.

Another highlight of the book is the LGBT rep, which I wasn’t expecting. If I had to complain about 1 thing, I would say that the beginning of the book, which took place in the “real world,” dragged on a bit too long. Afterwards though, I was totally drawn in and couldn’t put down the rest of the book. If you’re intrigued by the summary above, or if you’re a fan of fantasy books in general, I highly recommend that you check out this book when it comes out in July!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started